The Homelands

The policy of separate development sought to assign every black African to a 'homeland' according to their ethnic identity. Ten homelands were created to rid South Africa of its black citizens, opening the way for massed forced removals. In the 1970s, the government granted sham independence to South Africa's black homelands. This served as an excuse to deny all Africans political rights in South Africa.