The Pillars of the Constitution

Between 1994 and 1996 South Africa's first fully democratic parliament, sitting as the Constitutional Assembly, drew up South Africa's new constitution. It contains guarantees of equality more extensive than anywhere else in the world. At its heart are seven fundamental values which are represented by the pillars in the first courtyard visitors encounter on arrival at the museum: democracy, equality, reconciliation, diversity, responsibility, respect and freedom.